FEEDBACK, please?

Isn’t a great feeling when you get a nice feedback about a work or task you accomplished? I don’t know about you but it makes me happy and I feel that everything I exerted effort into has value when someone notices it, gives comments about it – may it be a positive comment or a criticism. I would always believe that at least someone has taken time to give my work some time and attention.
I get this feeling whenever I do my school work, tasks, projects, writing, assignment and exams. For me, a teacher gives an effective assessment when he / she gives the students a feedback about every certain work.
As a student, from my younger years up to college, receiving feedback from my teachers is always an issue to me. I always thought I was unappreciated when I work hard for a school task and just get a low grade, without knowing why and how. It’s always a perfect time for me to sing Pink’s “just give me a reason, just a little bit’s enough ♪♪”
A relief and joy is felt when I get a positive feedback. And when criticisms arise, I still like it as I know there is a chance for improvement and that I can do better next time.
Teachers, during my time as a student, and until this very moment, find it hard to provide feedback when assessing their students. This is an issue that needs attention and solution.
In our lesson in Module 6, giving feedback is the subject I would like to focus on. It is very important because the students need to know the reasons behind the grades or ratings they have been receiving.

As teachers, it is part of our mission to make sure that our students are learning and improving. Meaning, when we teach them the lessons then give assessment afterwards (without feedback), the mission of letting them improve becomes unclear. If that is how we do it, we do not give them room for improvement. That is why I strongly believe that giving feedback is very important in students’ learning process.
Why am I saying that feedback is significant for the students to progress? What are its benefits? For me, they are the following:
1. Students feel good that they did well when a grade with positive feedback is given.
2. Students know that their work is well attended and noticed.
3. Students realize their mistakes and can have basis for improvement.
4. Students will strive even harder for better work in the future.
5. Learning occurs because opportunity of adjustment for students’ performances is provided.

Feedback must not be neglected. Teaching does not end when lesson is taught and test is given. Teaching is a cycle for improvement, for never-ending learning and always for the better.

Leave a Reply

